Happy (but) Sad

I have four kids. Caleb the Wonder Dog, aka The Boy. Madison the Puffy Man. Janey the Stick Cat (whose mother was a cat and whose father was a squirrel). And The Girl. My Baby. Kate. My beautiful, smart, clever, patient, kind, generous baby girl. It seems like just yesterday that she was born, a perfectly-wrapped papoose of red baby with the sweetest little rosebud lips. And now she’s grown-up. I guess. And she informed me last week that she is moving to Florida. Which is, according to my sources, about a million miles away from me.

And while I hope that she is heading towards opportunity and excitement and a better life…I’m sad. Selfishly sad. For me. She’s my baby. She’s the only family I have anywhere near me. So. Happy and excited for her. Sad for me.

She came over yesterday to say goodbye to the animals.

To The Boy who loves her. He gives her his most wiggly butt and smiley face.

Image

To Madison, who we got for her when she turned 11…and now she is almost 23.

Image

And to Janey. Who does *not* like being held for photos.

Image

And we got to spend a little time together. I’m so going to miss my time with her. I know a lot of people with young children – and I say to all of you, know that while the days can seem interminable, the years go *so* fast, and before you know it, your little ones will be grown and gone. So cherish them now. Don’t worry about the unwashed dishes or messy rooms or teeth imperfectly brushed. Just go snuggle with those kids and tell them over and over how much you love them. Enough to last them a lifetime…even after they’re grown and gone from you.

And now I’m going to go have a bowl of Chocolate Obsession Coconut Ice Cream because it helps me not be so sad.

11 thoughts on “Happy (but) Sad

  1. Well that sucks. I have one in CA and the other upsate NY. I rarely hear from either of them unless something is wrong and they need my help. Such is life…

  2. Thanks for your post. You have raised a wonderful daughter who is confident enough to move out. Your love will be the bond to keep the connection strong

    • Thank you, Renee. I have so many conflicting feelings right now! I *am* proud of her for taking on this adventure. I’m proud of *me* for doing a pretty good job of raising that kid 🙂 But I am going to miss her *terribly.* I’m trying to do a lot of nice things for myself this week, ha.

  3. Oh, Bettye! I know what it’s like to have a child in Florida. It’s heartbreaking to have them so far away. But mine is only 600 miles away. Not quite a million. Although it might as well be. Which city and why? Email me.

  4. Oh my, Bettye… that IS big news! I’m sure you have lots of mixed emotions… I know she will be fine and will come home soon to visit… if not, we are making a road trip!!!

Leave a Reply

